Ayahuasca Retreat Reviews

Ayahuasca Retreat Reviews

Spirit Vine has been awarded the
TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice
2 years in a row 2021, 2022

See Our Reviews on AyaAdvisors

5
Rated 5 out of 5
5 out of 5 stars (based on 99 reviews)
Excellent100%
Very good0%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Extraordinary retreat center

Rated 5 out of 5
January 14, 2022

My retreat in December 2021 was my third at Spirit Vine since 2018. On my first visit, I thought there was nothing that could be done to further improve my experience — and yet each time I return, it is even better than the last.
Of course, the experience with the medicine Herself is always extraordinary, providing growth, healing and learning. This medicinal experience has been greatly assisted by the expert facilitation of the center’s owner, Silvia – who has trained in psychology and spent years learning from indigenous shamans – along with her assistant facilitator, TiO. Together, Silvia and TiO offer workshops and group sharing sessions that both help to unearth material for the ayahuasca to work with during ceremonies, and to process the experience after each ceremony. This work is all underpinned by Silvia’s philosophy that each of us has the power and agency within ourselves to change our lives and levels of consciousness — which, to me, has been a major part of the appeal of this center. The ayahuasca plants themselves are grown and brewed on site and Silvia and TiO are meticulous in ensuring each participant receives exactly the right dosage, including by discussing and assessing the dosage with each person after each ceremony.
At each retreat, I have noted an evolution based on feedback from participants: whether it is improvements in the accommodations or upgrades in the food (the vegan cooking is outstanding: the chef makes you feel like you are eating at a five star restaurant at every meal) or the increasing clarity of the boundaries of what is acceptable and what is not, that is shared at the start of each retreat and which contributes to helping everybody at the retreat feel safe and cared for.
What’s more, Spirit Vine tends to draw a very interesting and diverse set of participants who are committed to growth and healing. At each retreat, I have found like-minded people who are not only interested in their own development, but also have sought to support each other, both during and after the retreat.
In short, after testing out other retreat centers in Peru and Costa Rica, I cannot recommend Spirit Vine highly enough for those who are committed to do the hard work of spiritual and emotional healing and growth.

Tracey L

Healing, Health & Happiness

Rated 5 out of 5
December 4, 2021

Spirit Vine is a sanctuary, a piece of paradise on this earth. I’ve done Ayahuasca in other places but Spirit Vine is special. Silvia has created a wonderful and safe retreat for healing, working through my limiting beliefs, traumas, getting me unstuck and getting the answers to my BIG life questions.
I feel Silvia’s well intentions in every corner of Spirit Vine. The food, accommodation, property, workshops all play a role in giving you the support you need. The ceremonies are well planned and Ti0 was an amazing support. I knew I would be alright no matter what because Ti0 would always be there when I called his name.
I can’t recommend this place enough. I will definitely come back.

MJ P

3rd Time here this year! Can't wait to go back.

Rated 5 out of 5
December 1, 2021

I can’t say enough great wonderful things about this sacred place. This is my 3rd review here for Spirit Vine this year, as it’s the 3rd retreat here for me this year. I have healed from childhood traumas and become a better person because of Silvia and Ti0 and the ayahuasca ceremonies here. I have discussed this on my past reviews, so I’d like to mention on this review that I have seen so much positive change in so many other people who have come to Spirit Vine, it’s remarkable. Every retreat the groups bond, and you end up making lifelong friends with a soul-to-soul connection. This Garden of Eden, Silvia and Ti0 are a gift from another world, helping to transform peoples’ lives. I have seen sad, troubled faces light up and radiate joy by the end of the retreat. For many, including myself, Spirit Vine was the first step on a long path to happiness and enlightenment, a new and meaningful journey to a place I didn’t even know existed, but luckily is now brilliantly illuminated. The only difficult thing about being here is leaving. Thanks again Silvia and Ti0, I’m so grateful!

Dee C

You just need to come to experience

Rated 5 out of 5
November 27, 2021

The adventure started in Itacare, a small beautiful town in Bahia region that was recommended by the Spirit Vine before and after the retreat. It was very helpful from the hosts’ side to think beforehand about small details like transportation to and from, requirements, etc. Food was awesome prepared by the top creative vegan chef Tiago. The location of the retreat center was superb. I especially enjoyed the pond. It is definitely sacred.
Big thanks to the hosts, Silvia and Tio, for been so loving and caring. Silvia’s soft but powerful nature and her vast experience made the ceremonies flow in a natural way. And Tio’s ‘omnipresence’ was very comforting during the ceremonies. It was my first time to experience ayahuasca ceremony and I felt very anxious, especially for the first time, and at times even thinking why did I come at all. But in the end, I’m very happy that I did. It felt like the years of therapy in only 10 days. I was also fortunate to come with my husband and it helped us to actually connect even more. The most powerful experience of the ceremonies was connection to nature like never before where you feel the unity with everyone and everything. It was just amazing.
There were 15 participants (both first timers and more “experienced” ones) which at first seemed like a lot, but it turned out that each one was such a precious addition to the group that added his/her part to the healing and connection of everyone that I wouldn’t want to experience it otherwise.
At the end, I just want to enunciate that no words can describe the journey, and it is so unique that you just have to come and experience it for yourself:)

Tatyana

Always life changing

Rated 5 out of 5
November 16, 2021

This was my fourth time at Spirit Vine and it won’t be my last! I come here whenever I can and I recommend to everyone I know because it is simply the best place to come and do some deep inner exploration. Spirit Vine is incredibly safe on every level. I come here because I know I am safe and grounded and therefore able to explore myself and face hard stuff while being incredibly well taken care of, sleeping in comfortable beds, and eating delicious food.
In this most recent experience I was able to tap into the “higher” me or the “real” me and by that I mean I was able to feel and understood that I have control over my own life. I recovered my own power. I identified and let go of things that didn’t belong to me. I also explored my childhood and was able to see this shadow side of myself that desperately needed to be right. I realized that I could give my inner child comfort, validation, and reliability and this need to be right started to lighten. Once my inner child felt taken care of, my creativity really started to flow! I was writing poems all day long and just playing. I got so many new ideas about my business and I’m coming home feeling excited to continue building the life I really want to be living. Following my bliss!

David`

A place of Rest, Refuge, and Rejuvenation!

Rated 5 out of 5
November 13, 2021

I signed up for this trip at the last minute not knowing much about Ayahuasca but looking for an experience where I could do some inner work and hit the reset button going into 2022. This experience exceeded all of my expectations! The accommodations were top tier and though I was out of my comfort zone as a city dweller, I enjoyed every bit of living in the jungle! With this being my first time experiencing Ayahuasca, I felt extremely comfortable and safe the entire time and everything was explained in a way that a child could understand. I was able to do some significant work on my inner self and I left with so much insight that I will be unpacking for some time. I had so many epiphanies and was able to look at significant experiences that shaped who I am. Silvia and Tio were there to guide me through the tough times and by the end I felt nothing but gratitude for my 11 day experience at Spirit Vine. The diversity of the group was amazing and despite our varying backgrounds, we left as family! I highly recommend this experience.

Taylor G

A crash course in therapy

Rated 5 out of 5
November 2, 2021

Everything about Spirit Vine excellent and great value for money. Long story short, you de-clutter your mind, clear out some of the excess unwanted baggage, learn ways to carry on with the process once you leave, and it’s also a great holiday anyway! There are all likeminded people from all over the world who you share the retreat with, whom you can integrate your experience with and thus build close bonds.
All the logistics of travelling to and from the retreat are meticulously planned, making it as stress free as possible.
The vegan food is great, but it’s a shame you can’t take the chefs home with you!
All in all, I would recommend to anyone who feels the calling, you can’t go wrong.
As far as Covid goes, everyone attending needs to show a negative test before arriving at the retreat, which can easily be done at the local town Itacare’.

Dan the Man

No words, just feeling

Rated 5 out of 5
July 29, 2021

If you are here reading this review, go to Spirit Vine. I wanted to wait a little while to integrate my experience before writing this review. I could not wait any longer. The tools, techniques, and advice given at Spirit Vine are far above anything you will ever receive anywhere else. I have experienced OCD since I was little and felt stuck in every aspect of the word. I did not know what were my own thoughts and feelings and what were not. I can confidently say that is not the case anymore. Here at Spirit Vine YOU are the one that has to put in the work and believe you will get better. I did not fully believe until I came here. It empowers you to deal with your own issues anytime and in anyway they pop up in your life. I faced fear, sat with uncertainty, and encountered moments of my past and glimpses of my future. I will never forget this experience and I cannot wait to go back for more healing. You are in the safest hands with Silvia and Ti 0. I understood the full extent of their love and care after the first ceremony. They truly do know what is best for you regarding dose and areas to focus on within ceremony. The group aspect positively adds to the experience and I have made friends that I will keep for life. We are all in this together. The energy on site is captivating. Please Go. And eat some of the delicious food from Thiago while you’re at it 🙂

G Lynch

First time Ayahuasca experience and I will come back!

Rated 5 out of 5
July 18, 2021

It was my first experience doing ayahuasca and I wanted somewhere I can feel safe. Silvia and Ti O are amazing people and they made the entire experience for all of us great. Spirit Vine is located in a beautiful property which adds to the experience. The group size was 15 but by day 3, we bonded and were able to spend time together like a family. There was time for us to reflect and journal our thoughts, and the sharing after each ceremony made us learn from one another and grow as individuals. Next time I come back, I will like to take time off after the retreat to spend in Itacare.

Liz Y

Simply the best!

Rated 5 out of 5
July 12, 2021

I let a couple weeks pass after the retreat to write my review. Ready?? Let’s go!
Why Spirit Vine.
I didn’t find this center online. I have a friend who’s been to this center twice before and she spoke highly about it. When I found out that Silvia who created this sacred healing environment is a psychologist right away I knew that Spirit Vine is a place for me.
I have had many ayahuasca ceremonies in the past 6 years with various tribes in different countries where I was just given the medicine without a lot of explanations and integration techniques.
The approach Silvia uses in her center is different and it was more productive for me.
There were workshops at the center that gave me tools to work with during the ceremonies. So Before each ceremony I was prepared.
I loved the shadow workshop very much which helped me to identify one of the faces of my dark side and work through it.
Ti0 did a great workshop on energy where he gave us tools on how to elevate our consciousness and be a better version of ourselves. We even watched movies there 🙂
The center is located not too far from a beautiful coastal town of Itacaré in the Atlantic forest. The land is stunning. There is a pond that I enjoyed every day, many beautiful plants, birds, monkeys. It’s a true paradise.
There’s an actual chef Thiago (obrigada from the bottom of my heart) who creates art with food. We literally ate art every single day there.
The accommodations were lovely and sparkly clean. I stayed in dorms with two more guests and it was perfect.
There was yoga and massages available which helped me to connect better with my body.
We took a few trips to the stunning beaches in the area and a waterfall.
Everyone who works at the center is super friendly and attentive.
We were a group of 15 and it was perfect. Not too many people, not too little. We all have become one big family by the end of the retreat.
I came out of this experience with a bunch of friends and a lot of knowledge. I have struggled all my life with the lack of self-love. At the retreat I was finally able to understand how to love and accept myself unconditionally. I felt very supported and loved by everyone there which definitely enhanced my experience and helped me to heal. Now I’m going through an integration process using all the tools I received during my retreat.
What I want to say is even if you don’t want to drink the medicine you can still come and enjoy the healing energy in the retreat. It’s much more than ayahuasca.
I’ll definitely be back to do more work.
Thank you Silvia and Ti0 and everyone who served us and helped us on our healing journey in Spirit Vine. I feel abundance of gratitude 🙏
So blessed to have met you.
Warm hugs, until next time.
Com amor, Svetlana

Svetlana

Upcoming Retreats

  • Jun  5 — Jun 13
  • Jul  3 — Jul 13
  • Aug  15 — Aug 23
  • Sep  15 — Sep 23
  • Oct  9 — Oct 17

Journey with us

Browse our gallery

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Articles, videos, books, quotes, retreat updates, and more...

Spirit Vine COVID-19 Update

Last Updated: 5th May 2021

In light of the global situation, we are establishing new guidelines to ensure that we provide the maximum amount of safety to all participants who attend the retreats.

We will be following the guidelines provided by the Brazilian government which you can find below, and adding any necessary precautions suitable for the retreats.

In the Itacare area, where we are located, there are very low number of COVID cases.

We will update this section when new information is available.
Content listed here is subject to change.

If you have any questions, please contact us.

Brazilian Government Recommendations for COVID-19

  • Wash your hands frequently with soap and water;
  • if water and soap are not available or when hands are not visibly dirty, an alcohol-based hand sanitizer may be used;
  • Maintain at least a 1-metre distance between yourself and others;
  • Wear a mask, that covers your nose, mouth and chin;
  • Practice respiratory hygiene;
  • Avoid touching your eyes, nose and mouth;
  • Be aware of the situation of your destination and follow the guidelines of local public health authorities;
  • Avoid spaces that are closed, crowded or involve close contact;
  • Monitor your health for COVID-19 symptoms and, if you feel unwell:
    – seek medical attention;
    – stay self-isolated as recommended by local health authorities.

Anyone who wants to enter in Brazil must present a negative Covid RT-PCR test taken within 72 hours prior to boarding the flight or a negative Antigen test taken within 24 hours of boarding the flight. 

Travelers must also fill out an affidavit 24 hours before departure acknowledging the health measures that must be complied with during the period that they will remain in the country. You can find the affidavit here.

Prior to leaving Brazil, depending on the requirements of your destination country, you may be required to present an RT-PCR or Antigen test. If you need a PCR test we recommend you to budget the required time of 6 hours to take the test and get the results at Sao Paulo Guarulhos airport. Antigen test can be taken in the town of Itacare near our center before you go to the airport.

Please note that Itacare and Ilheus do not have RT-PCR testing centers.

Spirit Vine Guidelines for COVID-19

We are requiring all participants and staff to provide a valid Covid-19 test prior to entering the center. The Antigen test is only valid for 24 hours and PCR test is only valid for 72 hours. A valid negative test result must be sent by email prior to entering the center.