Ayahuasca Retreat Reviews

Spirit Vine has been awarded the
TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice
2 years in a row 2021, 2022

See Our Reviews on AyaAdvisors

5.0
Rated 5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5 stars (based on 172 reviews)
Excellent100%
Very good0%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

Amazing experience, way beyond my expectations.

Rated 5.0 out of 5
September 6, 2023

I finally found myself. I realized the things that slow me down and I got help to know how to treat and solve my stuff

5 stars for everything – accommodation, food, service, willingness to help…

Amazing place, amazing energy.

Silvia, Noor.. incredibly professional and amazing people, with soul.

Literally nothing needs to be better, everything is beyond perfect.

I can’t wait to visit them again (beautiful Brazil )

spirit vine

MarkoN

This place is amazing, a little paradise

Rated 5.0 out of 5
September 6, 2023

Everything is beautiful, from nature to the food and accommodations. But most important, Silvia and her helpers provide such a safe space to enter this journey with the medicine. Her grounded presence, her workshops, and guidance, and the whole setting allow the participants to enter deeply into this experience and give precious tools to integrate it afterward. Taking Ayahuasca is a serious adventure, and I cannot imagine a better place to do it. It was, for me, probably the most intense, healing, difficult, transformative, and mystical experience of my life.

Marc-Henri

I had an excellent experience at Spirit Vine.

Rated 5.0 out of 5
September 3, 2023

It gave me some very much-needed clarity at a rather tumultuous time in both my professional and personal life.

Overall, the place runs like a Swiss clock. Everything is well thought through and taken care of from the moment you enter the retreat. The workshops are great, and the individual interactions with Silvia, Noor, and Miro have been very helpful in integrating what I learned during the activities. There is a well-structured progression that helped me advance on my journey, at my own pace. I also appreciate having met such a great and interesting group of people – I learned something from their personal journeys as well.

I cannot recommend this place enough, and I believe that everyone could benefit from doing this type of retreat at least once in their lives. You will learn a lot about yourself and be better for it.

Yevgen

I attended the February 2023 retreat at Spirit Vine.

Rated 5.0 out of 5
September 2, 2023

The organisation, food, and pastoral care all were faultless. In the last few days I was cast in a spell of love and healing that was more beautiful than I am able to describe. I am deeply grateful to Silvia, Ti0 and my fellow retreatants for this experience.

twb

I read all the review, all of the 144, and they were very helpful.

Rated 5.0 out of 5
August 29, 2023

And I read a book called YUSA for those that are very curious about Ayahuasca and Iboga, the feminine and masculine sacred healing plant. So my experience was wow, it was way way beyond what you could ever try to realize with your own logical mind. I paid for 9 days 4 ceremonies. Those ceremonies showed me a lot of things I could never even try to find myself even if I had 100 more years or even lives to just sit and try to realize why things in my life became the way they were or how I have those traumas which even I did not know. Ayahuasca will heal you and show you things that you NEED To see, not what you want to see. I had amazing indescribable visions, insight, my feelings were amplified so much I never had there things of feelings in my entire life. I have fun a lot and do smile but I never felt completely whole, more shallow like I believed I just could not feel to 100% and that something was wrong with me, Ayahuasca made all of my feelings bloom, I felt feelings I never had in my 28 years of experience so I was so happy, blissful, eternal gratefulness for the plant, For Silvia, Noor, Miro for providing us a absolutely beautiful place to do the ayahuasca, the workers who gave us wonderful food, the environment was just perfect. I couldn’t complain even if I tried. My view of things have changed. I saw my own death, I had my ego death, saw many different realities and dimensions, so things I did that was wrong and people I need to get rid off. It showed me so so much even if I tried to explain everything, most I could explain would be only 10% of everything it it showed me. I will always go back to Itacare and do my ayahuasca at Silvia’s retreat, everything costed me 6000-7000$ and what I got from it was so much more worth that 6-7000 is nothing compared to all the healing, trauma and all the other stuff ayahuasca showed me, I will go back again and again whenever I feel stuck or need insight. Again, thank you Silvia for everything.

Sincerely, Crawling Man

Nawroz Duhoki

This was one of the most beautiful experiences of my life

Rated 5.0 out of 5
August 28, 2023

I read many reviews before applying to this retreat, and they seemed too good to be true. But now I understand, every little detail was wonderful: the place is stunning, the bungalows were always very clean, the food (vegan, no salt, and gluten-free) was amazing. I miss that breakfast so much!

I felt a strange connection to all the people I met there, even though I had never met them before. Everybody was there to improve themselves while helping others on their journeys and that was beautiful by itself.

This was my first experience with Ayahuasca. The ceremonies were very quiet, and I couldn’t have felt safer. Silvia is a very intuitive person and has a lot of expertise in this field. I was quite impressed by her insights. Noor and Miro were always willing to help with anything we needed. I also found the workshops very useful.

Now I understand what people mean when they say that one night of ayahuasca is equivalent to several years of psychotherapy. After 12 years of psychotherapy, I can personally say that this is true. I had so many insights in all ceremonies, that I was truly astonished. Lots of memories – good and bad – came to the surface, as I had never forgotten them. I noticed the change in other participants as well, they all seemed lighter after the retreat. Somehow, this light healed a part of me too.

I honestly cannot recommend this place enough. Thank you all for this amazing experience, I hope to be back soon!

Andreia

I’ve had the pleasure of participating in the Spirit Vine Ayahuasca Retreat in May 2023

Rated 5.0 out of 5
August 4, 2023

For anyone interested in embarking on an enlightening voyage into their psyche and keen on personal growth, I cannot recommend this retreat highly enough.

1) Community & Environment: The retreat gathers diverse individuals from around the globe, creating a nurturing environment for profound connections. Nestled near the beautiful locale of Itacare, Bahia, Brazil, the ambiance of Spirit Vine itself contributes significantly to the introspective experience.

2) Guided by Expertise: Silvia, the retreat’s host, adeptly combines her knowledge of clinical psychology with spiritual practices. Assisted by her attentive team, Miro and Noor, she creates a holistic approach toward personal development through a blend of workshops, ceremonies, art, yoga sessions, etc.

3) Insightful Workshops & Ceremonies: The workshops, covering ‘inner child,’ ‘spirit releasement,’ and much more, provide invaluable insights into personal psychology. The ceremonies are transformative, facilitating self-awareness, reconciliation, and healing. For someone transitioning into entrepreneurship like myself, these experiences were truly enlightening.

4) Exceptional Infrastructure: From the comfortable rooms to the nutritious and delicious food, every detail was thoughtfully designed to ensure our physical well-being, which, in turn, greatly contributed to the overall experience.

5) Lasting Impact: Two months on, the insights and revelations I’ve gained at Spirit Vine continue to enrich my life. My relationships have improved, my self-awareness has deepened, and my path towards success has become more apparent. The retreat has imparted valuable life lessons and skills, which have empowered me to navigate life with greater confidence and clarity.

In conclusion, Spirit Vine Ayahuasca Retreat is not just a retreat; it’s a journey of transformation that leaves an indelible imprint on your soul. I wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone on the quest for self-discovery and personal growth.

To Silvia, Miro, and Noor, thank you for this transformational experience.

-LT

LT

This is my third time at the Spirit Vine retreat.

Rated 5.0 out of 5
August 2, 2023

I had originally planned to go to the August 2023 retreat but thanks to a last minute cancellation/rebooking I got in the July one.

Silvia took a piece of the jungle and transformed it into a Paradise on Earth. Remote enough to be able to enjoy the sounds of the jungle, close enough to Itacare where you can enjoy the beaches and more before and after the retreat.

As already said several times, before attending the retreat last July I had never tried any opioids or similar substances and the two retreats I did last year were a revelation for me. And this is the only place I ever and will ever consider for Ayahuasca experiences as everything is meticulously organised so the participants feel safe to lower their walls and explore beyond their own boundaries or those imposed by the society.

There are a lot of rules to follow, but they all make sense and easy to follow, no sugar, no salt etc. to enhance the experience.

This time I did not have huge revelations like I had the previous two times, but still I was able to get a few insights which were/are very significant.

Aside of the excellent food, and the actual ceremonies and the insights I would stress the huge importance of the workshops which are done in preparation to the ceremonies which I am still applying in daily life (without the need to be at the retreat).

I found the workshops to be very useful since the first time I did them last July, and I have practiced some of them during the past year and found them to be very useful combined with mediation even on daily basis.

I am so grateful that Silvia has created such a safe and wonderful place where you can explore yourself and give a hand to your inner child to help you heal yourself and know yourself.

Big thanks to Noor as well for helping with this retreat.

And, as always, I will be back next year for sure.

Felix

Felix 3

If you walk the length of the Spirit Vine site

Rated 5.0 out of 5
July 22, 2023

from the bottom bungalow to the peak of the stairs above the ceremony house, you get a sense of the wonder of the place. Spirit Vine is magical. When I asked Silvia why Brazil and not Peru for the retreat centre, she said Bahia is lighter. Is it the fan of the palms that makes it so? You might think of sitting on the little jetty looking out onto the pond. Nature is alive. At Spirit Vine, everything is beautiful.

When the aesthetics of a place are in order so that nothing glitches in the design, you know you are in the hands of a master. The masterful approach continues into all aspects of a Spirit Vine retreat. We ate a vegan banquet at every meal. Working with Ayahuasca can be hard work; being cradled in comfort allows for the quiet relaxation needed to contemplate.

I ventured into the past to Peru to drink Ayahuasca at two very good retreat centres. This time I wanted to work outside of the Shipibo tradition. I thought I might miss the Icaro, and to an extent, I did. However, Silvia’s curated playlists of devotional music from many different cultures and psychedelic ambient provided opportunities for additional exploration. The Ayahuasca is grown on-site; you drink from the same brew in each ceremony. Noor and Silvia decide on an appropriate strength for the first ceremony, and then you decide from there what strength works (with assistance if needed).

At each meal, Noor and Silvia sit at each end of the long table, a mad hatter’s tea party, and they are available. If there are personal issues to discuss, you can book a time with Silvia or Noor to help you work through post-ceremony challenges. The design of the workshops that accompany each ceremony helps to target personal inquiry and set intentions. However, what happens during an Ayahuasca ceremony is profoundly mysterious and unpredictable. You can work with Ayahuasca; Silvia and Noor give you the tools.

The ceremony house is an eight-starred symmetry, a shape of protection. Knowing how to protect yourself to be in your power is a hallmark of this retreat. While there is much socialising (if you want it), play, and joking around, the ceremonies at Spirit Vine are quiet. The retreat’s ceremonial aspect concludes with one or two daytime ceremonies. These were the revelations for me, having only previously drunk Ayahuasca at nighttime.

I came to Spirit Vine for a post-menopausal tune-up. I live clean and am healthy, but my thought patterns were restricting the spirit of independence and adventure that has defined my life. I am restored after eleven days at Spirit Vine and the following week spent in a nature paradise on the outskirts of Itacare.

What a place. What people. I will return.

Rachel

Rachel

If you are on the fence about whether ayahuasca is for you, or if you’ve made the decision but aren’t sure where to do it, my experience might help you.

Rated 5.0 out of 5
July 21, 2023

From the initial contact with Silvia all the way through the conclusion of the retreat, the entire process was as professional, smooth, reassuring and pleasant as could be. The initial screening was done with purpose and care in mind to ensure that ayahuasca is right for potential candidates and so that every participant gets the most benefit out of the experience. The same can be said about the dietary and medicine restrictions leading up to the retreat, the clothing and gear recommendations – again, all to maximize the full potential of the experience. Nothing was arbitrary or without a purpose.

Silvia carefully helped map out the logistics of traveling to the center, and even arranged for the transport from the airport, which was on time and waiting the minute I got off the plane. With little knowledge of Brazil and no experience in Portuguese, all of this would have been challenging and frustrating. Instead, it could not have been easier.

Brazil is an amazing country, and the small surf town of Itacare is a perfect place to really immerse oneself in the culture and take in all the beauty. Once again, it seemed like it was no accident that the retreat center was located just outside of this town. A shuttle van would come to pick up each participant and bring to the center.

Arriving at the facility, I was overwhelmed by the beauty of the natural landscape and the carefully planned out development of the site. The bungalows, the restaurant, the ceremony room, pond, and pathways are all nestled in the jungle and spaced out to give one the feeling that your are living out in nature. The food was incredibly diverse and delicious (even for having no salt), and each meal was timed perfectly in coordination with the ceremonies. My bungalow was a private one and could not have been more comfortable and accommodating. Every amenity you could want, including AC, fans, a balcony with a hammock, table and chairs, drinking water were provided. I was there in July, which was surprisingly quite cool at night and wonderfully warm during the day. I never once needed the AC or the fans. Because of the sloping topography, the bungalow is situated in the tops of the trees, giving you the feeling that you are in a treehouse. Monkeys and all manner of birds were just feet away, further enhancing the feeling of being immersed in the jungle. While the ayahuasca ceremonies were mentally and physically exhausting, there could not have been a more peaceful, relaxing and accommodating environment to rest in between each one.

As for the ayahuasca itself, I went into this whole retreat quite nervous about taking the medicine. I didn’t really know what to expect. Silvia and Noor dispelled any anxiety and trepidation through their gentleness and thorough process of determining the right initial dosage. They’ve been doing this a long time and their instincts are spot on. The night ceremonies consist of all of the participants gathering in the ceremony room, where individual beds are laid out in a circle. The prescribed dose is administered, everyone drinks at the same time, and so begins the journey. With the lights turned off, the music begins – a brilliantly planned out “soundtrack” that is unique for each ceremony. Usually beginning with soothing tracks to gently usher you into the journey, and then progressing into more dynamic and stimulating ones. They stir your mind and emotions in various ways, producing a spectrum of feelings. Again, not at all arbitrary or incidental. This soundtrack very much seems to guide you though the journey. And that’s exactly what each ceremony is – a journey. Silvia and Noor watch over everyone the entire night like loving and caring parents, making sure everyone is safe and comfortable. The first ceremony was the perfect starting dose for me. The experience and the revelations were so profound I could have left the retreat after just that one and felt completely satisfied with the outcome. However each subsequent ceremony proved to be even more profound and enlightening than the last one. The daytime ceremonies were very different from the night, but equally as profound. While they were all very unique, they followed an overarching theme that dovetailed at the end to create a life changing shift in perspective. I won’t go into the details of each journey, as they were very personal. Furthermore, because everyone’s individual journeys will be different anyway, I think the more helpful information is describing Spirit Vine’s environment and process surrounding the journeys. The cumulative effect of all the journeys, as well as the workshops punctuating the ceremonies, left me feeling like all of the things I struggled with my whole life were washed out of me. Like a tsunami came through and washed out all the garbage. Things that were troubling and damaging in my life seemed so small and insignificant. Priorities in my life shifted. I gained new goals, motivations and tools that I could not wait to implement when I got home. My physical health and fitness were far more important. I had more respect for nature and a newfound desire to be closer to it.

If this review sounds too good to be true, believe me when I say I haven’t even scratched the surface of how positively life changing the whole experience was. I’m leaving out so many of details because there are simply too many to cover. I was fortunate to have been with an amazing group from all over the world, all of whom I made friends with. It’s hard to imagine finding a better facility for the experience or a better group to share it with. I truly did not want to leave.

I came to Spirit Vine looking for something, needing something. I found what I was looking for and more. While I can honestly say the entire experience exceeded any hopes and expectations and left me more than satisfied, I know I will return. There is no doubt that Silvia and Noor genuinely care about your experience. It is so evident that they enjoy seeing everyone that comes though heal and grow. Trying out another ayahuasca facility is not even a consideration.

D_Magic

Upcoming Retreats

  • Apr  26 — May 4
  • Jun  4 — Jun 12
  • Jul  9 — Jul 19
  • Aug  14 — Aug 22
  • Sep  17 — Sep 25

Journey with us

Browse our gallery

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Articles, videos, books, quotes, retreat updates, and more...