Ayahuasca Retreat Reviews

Spirit Vine has been awarded the
TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice
in 2021, 2022, 2024

See Our Reviews on AyaAdvisors

5.0
5.0 out of 5 stars (based on 204 reviews)
Excellent100%
Very good0%
Average0%
Poor0%
Terrible0%

If you want to try Ayuascha then do it here

June 17, 2024

Life changing experience and a must try for people who have an open mind and ready to go deeper into themselves, accept themselves and evolve.

Silvia makes all the difference in this retreat, you can feel her heart and effort into the retreat and how everything has been thought about. It was unique to have a psychotherapist being a shamam as it’s possible to communicate with her directly. She understands normal life style and spends quality time with everyone. She is direct and playful and has a deep understanding of how humans work. There are few things she says which sticks with you and gives you an ‘Aha’ moment. A great personality and a pleasure to spend time with her.

The property is much more beautiful compared to how it appears on the photos. Initially I was skeptical as Spirit Vine was the cheaper option so thought it might be not be great but I felt like at home and in a resort at the same time.

Going to suggest to all my friends who are open to the experience and will visit again for sure 🙂

Thank you Silvia for guiding and being the light that you are 😃

Miri Mary

A Major Game Changer, Profound Healing, Heaven on Earth Experiences & Invaluable Investment Worth Gifting Self

May 17, 2024

I’m an Army Veteran who’s experienced various traumas throughout childhood and adulthood, and more than enough were to the extreme.

So even though I did over two years of professional therapy, and did over a decade of inner work while on a mystic path—to include: dream work, inner-child work, shadow work, The 7 Essene Mirrors, etc.—this retreat has taken my healing and transformation to a whole other level, and on all energetic levels: mental, emotional, physical, and spiritual.

Granted, I’m open to continue healing, learning, growing, evolving, and expanding my individual and Collective consciousness; hence, I consider returning for another retreat in Divine perfect timing and order, and here’s why it was worth it.

I’ve been drawn to a real-deal ayahuasca experience for years.

And though I came upon various opportunities, one place stood out from the rest; and it became my first experience.

It felt like the perfect combination package that I hadn’t seen before, that integrates:

connecting deeper with our whole self (physical self)/Self (Spiritual Self), as well as inner-child work, shadow work, other interesting workshops, a transparently informative website, and Silvia’s extensive, experiential background.

This 11 day ayahuasca retreat this month (July 3-13, 2022)—including 5, mind-blowing, challenging, thought-provoking, deeply healing, and/or heavenly ayahuasca ceremonies—was profoundly transformational and overall amazing.

It was the most invaluable investment and unconditionally loving gift that I ever gave to myself; and I highly recommend it to others.

Granted, no matter what I experience, I always like to follow my inner guidance/Heart/intuition/gut feeling/inner-wisdom FIRST AND FOREMOST, only taking onboard what FEELS light/true to my Heart, and discarding the rest.

The retreat center itself is like paradise, a Heaven on Earth—meticulously, beautifully, and perfectly designed by Silvia, and whom she co-created and built with her family-like team of employees.

The consolidation of an abundance of different trees, plants, bushes, flowers, pond, etc. are like puzzle pieces that reveal a giant, gorgeous picture.

Before coming to this retreat, there was no way that I was going to swim in a pond (was never interested and never planned on it).

However, I trust that ayahuasca has helped me to overcome my fear of the so-called “dark” murky water.

And it was such a liberating, empowering, refreshing and magical new experience; plus, the water felt so smooth and healing, as others have shared as well.

Silvia is a highly intelligent, very organized, meticulous, creative, innovative, wise and powerful Soul teacher, a major game changer.

Her refreshing, straightforward approach has gifted me with obvious blessings and blessings in disguise, especially profound insights, epiphanies, and life-changing realizations.

Ti0, Silvia’s Assistant, who is very authentic, honest, free-spirited, gentle kind, and helpful, was continually there for all the retreat participants 24/7. He was so trustworthy and reliable.

The retreat’s very talented and very friendly chef, Lou, generously created various healthy, vegan, colorful, beautiful, and delicious buffet style meals, drinks, and desserts for all of us on a daily basis, which was impressive.

This retreat’s yoga teacher, Andrea, is wonderful.

Her overall relaxing, yet pleasantly challenging style of Hatha yoga—that she taught with unconditional kindness, patience, encouragements, a great sense of humor, and full support—was deeply appreciated and memorable.

She also does heavenly massages that felt like I was melting into a higher realm, along with the other masseuse whose name escapes me, but is very talented and heartfelt kind as well.

The rest of the staff, to include the housekeeping ladies, were friendly and helpful as well.

Thank you so much to everyone who made this retreat possible, to include the retreat participants whom I was able to deeply connect with, interact with, share, learn from, and grow together in so many ways.

Mulantis

Best experience of my life!

May 17, 2024

Ayahuasca at Spirit Vine has been the most transformative experience of my life, and I couldn’t be happier with my choice. Here are the reasons I chose Spirit Vine, my personal experiences, and some tips for anyone considering this journey:

Why I chose Spirit Vine and wasn’t disappointed:

1. Connection with Nature: I love Brazil and its natural beauty. Spirit Vine is located in Bahia, near Itacaré in the rainforest. The magical ambiance of the forest sounds during nighttime ceremonies is indescribable. The weather was also great and the temperature always pleasant.

2. Excellent Facilities: They have great facilities (accommodation, restaurant, ceremony room), including a pond for swimming, which was important for me to feel connected to water.

3. Small Group Settings: Spirit Vine hosts small groups, with retreats occurring once a month. This personalised approach made it feel less like a commercial operation and more like a dedicated, supportive environment.

4. Expert Guidance: Silvia, who runs the retreat, is a PhD psychotherapist. Her extensive knowledge in psychotherapy and ayahuasca was incredibly beneficial throughout the retreat, providing us with deep insights and support. I cannot thank Silvia enough for everything I learned with her help.

My Experience at Spirit Vine:

* Safety and Care: Every dose of ayahuasca was carefully chosen based on certain criteria, and as we felt safe, we could adjust the dose in the booster or in the next ceremonies.

* Mental Preparation: We participated in preparatory workshops that taught us how to handle potential mental challenges during the ceremonies.

* Great Ceremonies: The ceremonies were beautifully conducted with exceptional music that still resonates with me. It’s worth noting that we were sometimes challenged with different types of music that would bring out of us different feelings which was so crucial. I’m incredibly grateful for these moments, as they brought many important insights to the surface.

* Supportive Staff: Silvia and the staff were incredibly supportive and attentive throughout the retreat.

* Amazing Vegan Food: The vegan meals were delicious and contributed to the overall cleansing process.

* Friendly Atmosphere: The staff and the other participants created a warm, welcoming environment.

What I Learned & Life After Ayahuasca:

The lessons I learned are deeply personal, but I can say that I addressed everything I wanted to work on. I had my retreat 1 month ago and I’ve already noticed significant positive changes in some aspects of my life, such as:

* Being more present and less focused on past regrets or future anxieties.

* Developing greater empathy for others and love for myself.

* Procrastinating less.

* Overall increased happiness and well-being.

* Quitting coffee and reducing alcohol and drug consumption as I’m more self-aware.

* Adopting a more balanced diet with more vegan options.

Tips for Future Participants:

* Follow the Diet: It’s crucial to cleanse your body beforehand so you can fully focus on the mental and spiritual aspects.

* Engage with Silvia: Take every opportunity to talk with Silvia. Her expertise in psychotherapy and ayahuasca is invaluable.

* Purposeful Participation: Ayahuasca is best suited for those doing therapy, seeking self-improvement, or spiritual growth. I wouldn’t recommend it for recreational use.

* Consider Your Company: Attend with a close friend you feel comfortable sharing with, or go alone. It’s easy to connect with others at the retreat. I don’t recommend going with a partner as this journey is deeply personal and you want to focus purely on you and not your partner.

* Explore Itacaré: After the retreat, spend some time in Itacaré. The area’s stunning nature and beaches offer a perfect place to reflect and integrate your experiences.

* Consider the Retreat: If you can’t go to Spirit Vine, which I highly recommend, choose a place in nature where ayahuasca originates, with a small group of participants and specific dietary preparations. The last thing you want is to be in a city, in a large room with 60 unprepared participants, potentially disrupting your journey.

In summary, Spirit Vine and Silvia offer a profoundly supportive and transformative ayahuasca experience, and I wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone serious about their personal growth journey. I will definitely be going back!

Adrian

Harmonious visit

May 17, 2024

It was the second time I visited this beautiful retreat center situated in the lush jungle near the stunning beaches of Itacaré. Firstly, you have the serene natural surroundings, and then you have the retreat itself with its simple rules, which truly enhance the experience. I’ve always sought something like this, where spirituality intertwines with Western psychotherapy. Such experiences, supported by psychotherapeutic theory and practice, are incredibly beneficial. Silvia, as the facilitator, constantly shares her knowledge not only through workshops but also throughout the entire retreat and during mealtimes. These insights are very useful for those who are willing to make changes in their lives. So, for anyone seeking guidance to harness their own power, gain self-knowledge, heal, and transform, this is the ideal place for you. You will become the lighthouse and guide for your soul. Also worth mentioning is the delicious food and the invigorating yoga. If you wish, you can also find solitude in your shelter to write in your journal, or you’re free to hang out and connect with others or with nature. It’s a beautiful experience to reconnect with your true self. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to become a more harmonious and authentic person.

Jarko

A great experience in every aspect

May 17, 2024

A great experience in every aspect. Spirit Vine retreat is the best of all worlds as an ayahuasca retreat, being set in the beautiful surrounds of the Atlantic Forest but easily accessible and with all the comforts and professionalism to make one’s experience truly harmonious. Friendly, helpful and professional staff, great healthy food, comfortable lodgings, and attention to every detail make Spirit Vine exceedingly recommendable.

Of note – retreat creator and director Silvia Polivoy not only has decades of experience within the traditional Amazonian shamanic tradition of ayahuasca, but also a PhD and twenty years practicing experience in clinical psychology; a deeply insightful, caring, and gently guiding leader throughout and beyond.

Furthermore, profits from this retreat fund conservation projects to maintain the beautiful and often endangered rainforest of which Silvia is an avid carer and defender.

A beautiful place and experience to which I will return.

William

It was my second visit to this beautiful retreat center, nestled in the lush jungle near the stunning beaches of Itacaré.

May 13, 2024

Firstly, the location offers breathtaking natural beauty, complemented by the retreat itself and its simple yet effective rules, which enhance the overall experience. I had always sought a blend of spirituality and Western psychotherapy, and this retreat perfectly embodies that fusion. It’s incredibly rewarding to encounter such experiences grounded in psychotherapeutic theory and practice.

Silvia, as the facilitator, generously shares her knowledge not only through workshops but also during mealtimes and throughout the entire retreat. These insights are invaluable for individuals seeking to instigate positive changes in their lives. For those eager to harness their inner strength for self-discovery, healing, and transformation, this retreat is an ideal destination. You’ll emerge as a beacon, guiding your soul’s journey.

Furthermore, the delicious food and rejuvenating yoga sessions are noteworthy. Whether you crave solitude to reflect and journal in your shelter or prefer to socialize and commune with others or nature, the retreat caters to diverse preferences. It offers a beautiful opportunity to reconnect with your authentic self. I wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone aspiring to cultivate harmony and authenticity in their lives.

Jaron

The Spirit Vine Retreat Center was amazing in every regard.

May 7, 2024

Silvia has created a paradise, has created an experience like none other. The accomodations were perfect, the food beyond excellent, and entire setting absolutely sublime and perfect for really connecting & finding answers. The depth of exploration of the mind and spirit is compounded with Silvia’s vast knowledge and previous experience. I came looking for answers and I received so much more. Thank you Silvia. I feel so fortunate to have found you. You are making the world better, person by person.

I wanted to write a new review now that I’ve been 4 times to this retreat center. I just couldn’t figure out how to do it, so I’m adding it here:

This was my 4th time coming and each time the insights and understandings are deeper & progressive. The integrative work Silvia does makes this approach unique and transferable into everyday life. The techniques learned can be used at anytime once back home. The food is amazing, and accomdations are perfect each time. Everyone here works together so seemlessly to make the experience magical. It is tranformative in ways I can’t describe.

Dove32

A great experience in every aspect.

May 7, 2024

Spirit Vine retreat is the best of all worlds as an ayahuasca retreat, being set in the beautiful surrounds of the Atlantic Forest but easily accessible and with all the comforts and professionalism to make one’s experience truly harmonious. Friendly, helpful and professional staff, great healthy food, comfortable lodgings, and attention to every detail make Spirit Vine exceedingly recommendable.

Of note – retreat creator and director Silvia Polivoy not only has decades of experience within the traditional Amazonian shamanic tradition of ayahuasca, but also a PhD and twenty years practicing experience in clinical psychology; a deeply insightful, caring, and gently guiding leader throughout and beyond.

Furthermore, profits from this retreat fund conservation projects to maintain the beautiful and often endangered rainforest of which Silvia is an avid carer and defender.

A beautiful place and experience to which I will return.

William

Ayahuasca has been one of the most transformative experiences on my healing journey

April 30, 2024

and I’m immensely grateful for trying it for the first time at Spirit Vines. What a beautiful place! The retreat’s deep respect for the Atlantic forest and the tradition of the medicine was evident from the start. I chose Spirit Vines primarily due to its clear ethical principles, which were prominently highlighted on the website and consistently demonstrated throughout the retreat.

Ayahuasca has helped me open doors to discover states of being that I’ve often over-intellectualized. It helped me detach from traumas, unhelpful thought patterns and beliefs that have kept me stuck in a victimizing cycle despite the awareness. Instead the retreat has offered me to find trust again, new perspectives and clarity through a carefully curated structure with ceremonies, workshops and group sharing sessions, not to mention the delicious vegan food adjusted to make sure you get the most valuable experience as possible. The team at Spirit Vines, led by Sylvia, was incredibly professional, supportive, informative, and provided a safe environment.

As mentioned, the incorporation of all essential elements including the space itself (see pictures) and a well-experienced team has created a holistic journey that provided me with such a push, hope, and energy to continue my journey of self-work. It has been such a memorable experience so it’s become a milestone I can revisit when I need to redirect myself during challenging times. I could go on and on about the benefits gained from it, but the domino effect finally falls down to the most profound gifts of all; a deeper appreciation for all life and a reawakening of my intuition.

I’m immensely grateful to Sylvia, Gal, Elvis, and the rest of the team for sharing their knowledge and dedicating so much time and energy to help others. They truly made Spirit Vines a magical place. I’m also thankful for the connections made with other participants on similar journeys. It was truly a blessing to meet you all. Thank you.

I’ll definitely be returning.

hannabanana

From the moment I had the call to work with this wonderful and special medicine Spirit Vine came in the picture many times.

April 24, 2024

I heard about it from a friend/client -which recommended the retreat and especially Silvia’s knowledgeable and empowering approach to the process of healing with the Ayahuasca brew… which by the way is carefully grown and made by her on the premises-, it came in my dreams, I read articles and found out about Silvia and the center via psychedelic and plant medicine’s articles and talks. So I booked and went there ready for this new adventure into my subconscious. The set and setting of the experience is safe, peaceful, smooth and loving, a beautiful calm natural oasis. The support is incredible, in every single aspect… preparation, hospitality, ceremonies, aftercare, integration. I received everything I was looking for and possibly more! Thank you silvia for your knowledge, your service, support, the commitment, the love and for creating an environment where people can truly let themselves be present and go deep into their healing process. The staff that is lovingly involved in the running of the retreat center and all the activities is wonderful. The food is incredible and wholesome, the yoga teacher and the massage offering is awesomely skillful and everything runs so harmoniously. To the point that I decided to stay for 2 retreats in a row. Best decision ever and I am grateful to Silvia for the opportunity and pushing me into finding my voice, my sovereignty and my inner power. I will go back for sure as I know that Ayahuasca is my medicine and my ally. ♥️

nuvola tivoli

Upcoming Retreats

  • Aug  14 — Aug 22
  • Sep  17 — Sep 25
  • Nov  5 — Nov 15
  • Dec  13 — Dec 21
  • Jan  10 — Jan 20

Journey with us

Browse our gallery

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Articles, videos, books, quotes, retreat updates, and more...